Sooronbai Jeenbekov signed a law prohibiting uranium and thorium mining in Kyrgyzstan

President Sooronbai Jeenbekov signed the Law of the Kyrgyz Republic “On the prohibition of activities related to the geological exploration of mineral resources for the purpose of prospecting, exploration and development of uranium and thorium deposits in the Kyrgyz Republic”. The law was adopted by the Jogorku Kenesh on October 31, 2019.

The purpose of the Law is to protect the health of the population, land, water bodies, flora and fauna, ensuring the rights of citizens to a favorable environment for life, work and leisure, as well as radiation and environmental safety in the Kyrgyz Republic.

This law in the territory of Kyrgyzstan prohibits:

1) the implementation of activities related to the geological study of the subsoil with the aim of prospecting and exploration of uranium and thorium deposits;

2) development of uranium and thorium deposits (mining of uranium, thorium);

3) the development of radioactive tailings, dumps and their transfer to individuals for the purpose of further development and maintenance.

Import of uranium-containing and thorium-containing raw materials and waste into the territory of the Kyrgyz Republic is not allowed. This Law shall enter into force after fifteen days from the date of official publication.

15-02-2020 11:08